Charleroi Belfry, UNESCO World Heritage Site
Place Charles II
- MAPS: Google Maps
The belfry is part of the Charleroi City Hall, designed by architect Joseph André in 1936. It is a perfect blend of Classicism and Art Deco. The 70-metre-high belfry can be accessed by climbing 250 stairs and was built using blue and white stone and bricks. It is crowned with a small bronze tower. The last three levels are reserved for the chambers of the 47 bells forming the carillon. Every fifteen minutes it chimes out a few bars of folk songs by Jacques Bertrand, the bard of Charleroi. This belfry is a UNESCO world heritage site.
Closed on public holidays and only open during the morning of 31 December. Guided visits for groups on request. UNESCO "World Heritage of Humanity" site.
Tourist information on the town CHARLEROI
Visit our partners' webpages
- Vicinal Historic Tramway Discovery Centre in Lobbes-Thuin
- Archeosite® and Museum in Aubechies
- Strepy-Thieu boat lift
- Espace Chimay - beer and cheese interpretation centre
- Bois-Du-Luc Ecomuseum