CITY HALL OF CHARLEROI
Place Charles II
- MAPS: Google Maps
The City Hall with a circumference of 240 meters is a stately and impressive building and was inaugurated on 18 October 1936. It was designed by architect Joseph André. Three heavy bronze doors give access to a hall of honour covered with marble. Seven high windows, separated by pillars, and the balcony with a decorative attic, make up the façade's grandeur. On either side of the bas-relief , which praises the city's bustle, two groups of statues represent the city's administration (on the right) and the family (on the left). The slate roof is embellished with 13 lucarnes and a campanile. The interior of the city hall has a lavish decoration: it abounds with marble and copperware, panelling and sculptures.
Closed on public holidays.
Guided visits organized on fixed dates.
The City Hall also houses the Museum for Fine Arts and the Museum Jules Destrée.
Also discover the Belfry, recognized as "World Heritage of Humanity" by Unesco, and part of the city hall.
INDICE PASSE-PARTOUT: 052111
Tourist information on the town CHARLEROI
Visit our partners' webpages
- Ronquières Inclined Plane
- The Eau d'Heures Lakes, the Largest Lakes in Belgium
- Le Pass - The Science Adventure Park
- The Beloeil Castle and its Park - The Belgian Versailles
- Château de Louvignies - Louvignies Castle