The Our Lady with the Rose Hospital in Lessines
Place Alix de Rosoît
- MAPS: Google Maps
Founded in 1242, the Our Lady with the Rose is one of the last self-sufficient hospitals, complete with a farm, gardens, ice chamber and cemetery.
It is an example of how hospitals worked during the Middle ages. This religious hospital is remarkable because the whole complex is well preserved but also because of the diversity of the structures and the rich art, pharmaceutical or medical collections, presented in a unique environment.
The hospital, a jewel of Lessine's historical heritage, was neglected until the end of the 1980s. More than 10 years of hard work and perseverance by volunteers were needed to save this masterpiece from disappearing and to turn it into a museum.
Individual visitors: open on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays from 2 pm to 6.30 pm (from the first weekend of April to the last weekend of October).
Visit-conference every 1st Sunday of the month (from April to October except in September) at 2.30 pm.
Last admission at 5.45 pm.
Guided visit planned at 3 pm (appr. 1h45).
In July and August, open every afternoon (except on Mondays).
Free visit with tape guide (FR, NL, EN) and brochure (DE, ES, IT).
Open all year round for groups, on request.
Weekly closing day: Monday.
For more information: Office du Tourisme, rue de Grammont, 2, 7860 Lessines. Tel et fax +32 (0)68/33 36 90.
Tourist information on the town LESSINES
- Visit the Our Lady with the Rose Hospital with your family
- Our Lady with the Rose Hospital in Lessines, an aura of history