Visit : Museum/Discover
Groesbeeck de Croix Museum - Decorative Arts from the 18th Century
© OPT / JP Remy
Rue Saintraint 3
- MAPS: Google Maps
The Groesbeeck de Croix Museum is closed for a period of roughly 2 years for renovation work.
The City of Namur will be renovating this stunning, 18th century town house, a protected Heritage building since 1934.
A bit of history
Architect Chermanne was commissioned to convert the former Villers-en-Brabant Abbey into an elegant town house in Louis XV-style by the Comte du Groesbeeck at the end of the 18th century.
It was converted into a museum in 1935, and its marvelously preserved interior contains, among other things, fine collections of Namur furniture, glassware and ceramics.
Its French gardens unfortunately did not survive the test of time, but were re-laid when the museum was converted by landscape gardener Hector Mathieu.
He returned the garden to its former appearance, with the central pond, symmetrical boxwood borders, a garden pavilion and little orangery.
Tourist information on the town NAMUR
Visit our partners' webpages
- Castle of Lavaux-Sainte-Anne
- The Trois Vallées steam railway, Mariembourg and Treignes
- Spitfire Museum - Colonel R. Lallemant D.F.C. in Florennes
- Han Yesteryear, Centre for Country Life and Forgotten Crafts
- Dinant Evasion: Kayaking Down the River Lesse