CASTLE OF THE MOUSCRON COUNTS
Avenue du Château 200
- MAPS: Google Maps
The Château of the Counts of Mouscron is a unique example of pre-19th century civil architecture in this town and has been listed since 1945. Four families lived here in a period of 6 centuries, and 2 historical events that are closely linked to the castle, still survive in tradition and local folklore. In this way Charles V stayed in the castle whilst visiting Mouscron, and the famous "Hurlus", followers of Luther who pillaged the region, have occupied the castle for three months. Today the "gentilhommière" is still left of this vast domain, a courtyard surrounded by remnants from the 16th and 17th century.
Closed to the public and only open during the heritage days and on request for groups.
For more information click HERE - © All rights reserved HCD asbl - DIN Consult sprl - 2003
Tourist information on the town MOUSCRON
Visit our partners' webpages
- Pairi Daiza animal park: take a trip around the world
- Grand-Hornu Mining Site: Industrial Archaeology & Temporary Exhibitions
- Nature and Acrobatic Forest Park
- International Carnival and Mask Museum
- The Eau d'heure lakes - La Plate Taille Welcome Centre