MUSEUM OF THE ROYAL COMPANY OF THE OLD ARQUEBUSIERS OF VISE
Rue Haute 11
- MAPS: Google Maps
Premises in Meuse renaissance style. Museum and history of fire arms and knives since the creation of the guild in 1579 among which a rampart harquebus and the emperor's vermeil necklace with parrots and jewels from the brotherhood of the old harquebusiers of Visé. With interesting sentimental souvenirs.
The knives and fire arms collection is completed by documents, flags and items owned by the guild. Among them: foot soldiers' tools, Comblain guns used at the end of the 19th century, relics of Maastricht headquarters, old and current uniforms and many portraits of previous members and old festivities.
Visits are always livened up with a shooting demonstration and visitors can hold the arms in order to estimate their weight and drill.
Open all year round by appointment as well as during the festivities of the Guild (the Sunday following 11 November and the last Sunday of June).
Guided tours (2-30 pers.). Duration: 30 to 60 min. Languages: FR (NL, EN, DE on request). Reservations required.
Original exhibition during the spring of the museums. Participation to the Heritage Days.
Free of charge with guide.
- tel. : +32 (0) 4 227 39 97
- fax : +32 (0) 4 227 39 97
Tourist information on the town VISE
Visit our partners' webpages
- Domaine de Palogne - Kayak, Nature and History
- Closure of the Ramioul Prehistosite - Prehitomuseum opens in 2015
- Modave Castle
- LA PARADA "EDUCATIONAL HORSE FARM"
- The Liege Print and Drawings Museum